CALENDAR  - Upcoming Events - 

      -------------------------------------------------------         Kirtan – An Evening of Festive Singing & Chanting

April 27, Friday Evening 6:30 – 8:30

Led by Joe Charsagua, E-RYT200

FREE EVENT 

Limited space so reserve your spot by signing up in the studio or email peace@gloucesteryoga.com

Kirtan is an increasingly popular expression of sound and music that helps bring a deeper experiential connection with our true Self within. Based on the concepts of Bhakti Yoga, the yoga of love and devotion, Kirtan uses the vibration of sound expressed through the chanting of a “mantra” to focus and direct our awareness within, both collectively and individually, exploring the essence of our being. Enjoy singing and chanting modern Kirtan tunes from popular Kirtan artists such as Krishna Das, David Newman and others. No musical experience or background is necessary to enjoy the Kirtan.  

Joe Charsagua is a yoga and meditation instructor teaching at several studios on the peninsula. He is also a math teacher with Newport News Public Schools. After retiring from the Army, Joe attended Zenya Yoga Academy earning his yoga teacher certification. He discovered “Kirtan” while at a meditation retreat with the American Meditation Society. This began his passion to practice Kirtan where he applies his talents in playing the guitar and harmonium to enrich his practice and share the Kirtan experience with others.

  -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Past Events 

2016

Nov 6 (Sunday 2:30 - 5:00) Meditation & Mandalas Workshop (Nancy Geary) 

2017

Feb 26 (Sunday 2:00– 4:00)– Introduction to Yoga Workshop                            (Nancy & Nichole)

March 10 (Friday 5:30 – 7:30) – Winyasa (Nancy) 

March 26 (Sunday 2:00 – 3:30) – Qigong Workshop (Patrick Gilman) - Bread for Life Donation Class

May 21 (Sunday 2:00 - 4:00) - Breath Workshop (Danna & Nancy)

June 9 (Friday 5:30 - 7:30) - Winyasa (Nancy)

July 9 (Sunday 2:00 - 4:00) - Sun Salutation Workshop (Joe)

August 6  (Sunday 2:00 - 3:30) Yoga for Freddie (April) - AIDS Charity Event 

Sept 8 (Friday 5:30 - 7:30) - Winyasa (Nancy)

Nov 12 (Sunday 2:00 - 3:30 - Yoga for the Animals (Nancy) - GMHS Donation Class

December 8 (Friday 5:30 - 7:30) - Winyasa (Nancy)

2018

Jan 20 - Feb 17 (4 Saturdays 1:30 - 3:30) - Meditation Workshop (Joe Charsagua)

April 20 (Friday 5:30 - 7:30) Taste of Italy Winyasa (Nancy)

April 22 (Sunday 1:30 - 3:30) Unlock Your Headstands Workshop (Regina)